Skip to main content

BOOM! Studios Brings Joss Whedon’s BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER & FIREFLY to Free Comic Book Day

Discover Two All New Stories From the Pop Culture Franchises on May 4, 2019

BOOM! Studios today announced WELCOME TO THE WHEDONVERSE FCBD SPECIAL, an all-new comic book arriving in comic shops worldwide on Free Comic Book Day (May 4th, 2019), with all new stories featuring two of the greatest creations from visionary Joss Whedon (writer/director Marvel’s The Avengers).

This FREE comic, released in partnership with 20th Century Fox Consumer Products, is the perfect jumping-on point for the “Whedonverse” with all new stories from the worlds of BOOM! Studios’ hit series Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Firefly.

First, Captain Malcolm Reynolds and his first mate Zoe Alleyne Washburne have a bond that was forged in blood during the war that shaped the ‘Verse…but when the awful secret at the core of that bond is finally revealed and they’re called to answer, the people who love them are left to pick up the pieces in an all-new story written by Greg Pak.

Created by Whedon and set 500 years in the future in the wake of a universal civil war,Firefly centers on the crew of Serenity, a small transport spaceship that doesn't have a planet to call home. Mal Reynolds, a defeated soldier who opposed the unification of the planets by the totalitarian governed Alliance, will undertake any job — legal or not — to stay afloat and keep his crew fed. Thrust together by necessity but staying together out of loyalty, these disparate men and women are seeking adventure and the good life, but face constant challenges on the new frontier, such as avoiding capture by the Alliance, and evading the dangers you find on the fringes of the universe.

And in the second exclusive story, there’s something evil lurking under Sunnydale High School, namely a gateway to a hell dimension that’s been foretold to destroy the world as we know it. Buffy and the gang have mostly got it under control…as long as everything stays exactly as it is, and we mean zero new plot points, no new characters, and absolutely no twists, turns, or misunderstood prophecies. Easy peasy! Writer Jordie Bellaire and artist David López continue the bold reimagining of the groundbreaking mythology that changed pop culture forever.

Buffy The Vampire Slayer premiered on the WB Network on March 10th, 1997. The Emmy and Golden Globe-nominated series, which ran for seven seasons from 1997-2003, stars Sarah Michelle Gellar as “Buffy Summers.” Chosen to battle vampires, demons and other forces of darkness, Buffy is aided by a Watcher who guides and teaches her as she surrounds herself with a circle of friends called the “Scooby Gang.”

WELCOME TO THE WHEDONVERSE FCBD SPECIAL, featuring a cover by Greg Smallwood (Moon Knight), is the latest release from BOOM! Studios’ eponymous imprint, home to a world-class group of licensed comic book series and ambitious original series, including Lev Grossman’s The Magicians, Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Planet of the Apes, Abbott, Mech Cadet Yu, Grass Kings, and Klaus.

“We’re committed to making 2019 the biggest year ever for fans of Firefly and Buffy the Vampire Slayer comic books – and that means giving them the most anticipated release of Free Comic Book Day,” said Jeanine Schaefer, Executive Editor, BOOM! Studios. “We’re laying the seeds for some huge stories in each of these series, along with a massive surprise that no Joss Whedon fan can miss!”

Print copies of WELCOME TO THE WHEDONVERSE FCBD SPECIAL will be available for FREE on May 4th, 2019 exclusively at local comic book shops (use comicshoplocator.com to find the nearest one).

For continuing news on WELCOME TO THE WHEDONVERSE FCBD SPECIAL and more Free Comic Book Day news from BOOM! Studios, stay tuned to www.boom-studios.com and follow @boomstudios on Twitter. And follow Buffy the Vampire Slayer on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

IDW Publishing Celebrates 20-Year Anniversary with Epic IDW 20/20 Comic Book Initiative

IDW Publishing proudly celebrates its 20th anniversary beginning in January 2019 with an all-new weekly event, IDW 20/20! Explore some of pop culture’s most iconic properties – Ghostbusters, Jem and the Holograms, My Little Pony, Star TrekTM, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – as secrets and startling revelations of these fan-favorite characters are revealed from 20 years into the future — or past! What made them into the heroes you love, and what twists does the future hold? "An anniversary like the one IDW is celebrating is a cause to look to the future and the past,” says IDW Editor-in-Chief John Barber. “It gives us a moment to reflect on where came from and where we’re going, because both directions are pretty exciting. We’re lucky to have partners like Hasbro, Nickelodeon, CBS Consumer Products, and Sony to share in the celebration — and to have these five sets of characters that have helped place IDW at the center of the pop culture universe!” January 2019’s IDW 20/

Supernatural: The Complete Fourteenth Season Blu-ray Review

*Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the Blu-ray I reviewed in this blog post. The opinions I share are my own* Synopsis: The Winchester brothers’ harrowing journey into the heart of darkness continues as Supernatural enters Season Fourteen. Sam (Jared Padalecki) and Dean (Jensen Ackles) have matched wits with monsters, demons, Heaven and Hell. But last season, the Winchesters and Castiel (Misha Collins) stumbled upon a terrifying alternate universe: an apocalyptic world where they were never born, all while training Jack (Alexander Calvert), the son of Lucifer, and trying to save their mother, Mary Winchester. The final battle with Lucifer and the Archangel Michael altered the Winchester’s lives forever… and created an even greater threat for Sam and Dean. The boys are back and willing to risk everything for their loved ones in all twenty thrilling new adventures, including a historic 300th episode, with a Winchester family reunion never

Photo of the day - A Cap Wearing Brent Spiner as Data Checking Out His Script

A Cap Wearing Brent Spiner as Data from Star Trek The Next Generation Checking Out His Script.  What the camera doesn't show is how fast Data is reading the script.