Skip to main content

BOOM! Studios Brings Joss Whedon’s BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER & FIREFLY to Free Comic Book Day

Discover Two All New Stories From the Pop Culture Franchises on May 4, 2019

BOOM! Studios today announced WELCOME TO THE WHEDONVERSE FCBD SPECIAL, an all-new comic book arriving in comic shops worldwide on Free Comic Book Day (May 4th, 2019), with all new stories featuring two of the greatest creations from visionary Joss Whedon (writer/director Marvel’s The Avengers).

This FREE comic, released in partnership with 20th Century Fox Consumer Products, is the perfect jumping-on point for the “Whedonverse” with all new stories from the worlds of BOOM! Studios’ hit series Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Firefly.

First, Captain Malcolm Reynolds and his first mate Zoe Alleyne Washburne have a bond that was forged in blood during the war that shaped the ‘Verse…but when the awful secret at the core of that bond is finally revealed and they’re called to answer, the people who love them are left to pick up the pieces in an all-new story written by Greg Pak.

Created by Whedon and set 500 years in the future in the wake of a universal civil war,Firefly centers on the crew of Serenity, a small transport spaceship that doesn't have a planet to call home. Mal Reynolds, a defeated soldier who opposed the unification of the planets by the totalitarian governed Alliance, will undertake any job — legal or not — to stay afloat and keep his crew fed. Thrust together by necessity but staying together out of loyalty, these disparate men and women are seeking adventure and the good life, but face constant challenges on the new frontier, such as avoiding capture by the Alliance, and evading the dangers you find on the fringes of the universe.

And in the second exclusive story, there’s something evil lurking under Sunnydale High School, namely a gateway to a hell dimension that’s been foretold to destroy the world as we know it. Buffy and the gang have mostly got it under control…as long as everything stays exactly as it is, and we mean zero new plot points, no new characters, and absolutely no twists, turns, or misunderstood prophecies. Easy peasy! Writer Jordie Bellaire and artist David López continue the bold reimagining of the groundbreaking mythology that changed pop culture forever.

Buffy The Vampire Slayer premiered on the WB Network on March 10th, 1997. The Emmy and Golden Globe-nominated series, which ran for seven seasons from 1997-2003, stars Sarah Michelle Gellar as “Buffy Summers.” Chosen to battle vampires, demons and other forces of darkness, Buffy is aided by a Watcher who guides and teaches her as she surrounds herself with a circle of friends called the “Scooby Gang.”

WELCOME TO THE WHEDONVERSE FCBD SPECIAL, featuring a cover by Greg Smallwood (Moon Knight), is the latest release from BOOM! Studios’ eponymous imprint, home to a world-class group of licensed comic book series and ambitious original series, including Lev Grossman’s The Magicians, Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Planet of the Apes, Abbott, Mech Cadet Yu, Grass Kings, and Klaus.

“We’re committed to making 2019 the biggest year ever for fans of Firefly and Buffy the Vampire Slayer comic books – and that means giving them the most anticipated release of Free Comic Book Day,” said Jeanine Schaefer, Executive Editor, BOOM! Studios. “We’re laying the seeds for some huge stories in each of these series, along with a massive surprise that no Joss Whedon fan can miss!”

Print copies of WELCOME TO THE WHEDONVERSE FCBD SPECIAL will be available for FREE on May 4th, 2019 exclusively at local comic book shops (use comicshoplocator.com to find the nearest one).

For continuing news on WELCOME TO THE WHEDONVERSE FCBD SPECIAL and more Free Comic Book Day news from BOOM! Studios, stay tuned to www.boom-studios.com and follow @boomstudios on Twitter. And follow Buffy the Vampire Slayer on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marvel Reveals the Future of the X-Men in Final ‘X-Men: The Seminal Moments’ Documentary Short Episode

The next seminal moment in X-Men history debuts with House of X and Powers of X this July! Just a month before the highly-anticipated debut of HOUSE OF X and POWERS OF X, Marvel released an all-new episode of X-MEN: THE SEMINAL MOMENTS featuring series writer Jonathan Hickman and other legendary Marvel creators as they shed light on what the future holds for mutants across the universe!

“When Jonathan set out to tell this story, he set out to change the way people think about the Marvel mutants forever…it really shakes things up,” said X-Men Editor Jordan D. White. “The first time he told it to me, I was upset. I was like, ‘We can’t do that. We CAN’T do that.’ The more I thought about it, the more I went, ‘Wait hang on, what if we did...’”

As HOUSE OF X and POWERS OF X is set to shake the Marvel Universe to its core, Hickman revealed what fans might expect from the series:

“There’s no alternate universe version of the X-Men that we’re doing – time travel, or any of that kind of stuff…

MARVEL’S PULL LIST UNVEILS EXCLUSIVE PREVIEW FOR UPCOMING MARVEL COMICS

Cover art for House of X #1 and Powers of X #1 revealed for the first time, beginning a historic new era for the X-Men! Today, Marvel released a special edition of THE PULL LIST, unveiling exclusive information for titles coming to comic shops this July! Presented by hosts Ryan “Agent M” Penagos and Tucker Markus, THE PULL LIST sheds light on some of the most highly-anticipated Marvel comics news, sharing details on writer Jonathan Hickman's new direction for the X-Men; trouble for Rocket in "Guardians of the Galaxy"; The Thing and Hulk clash in "Fantastic Four"; and new series "Punisher Kill Krew #1" and "Loki #1."



For more information, check out this special episode of Marvel’s PULL LIST at http://marvel.com/julycomics. Tune in to Marvel’s Pull List each week for more exclusive news and reveals!





David Tennant and Catherine Tate return as the Doctor and Donna!

David Tennant and Catherine Tate reprise their roles in Doctor Who for three more audio adventures in time and space, in The Teth Doctor Adventures - Volume 3.
And they’re taking the family with them...
Jacqueline King will return as Sylvia Noble, Donna’s mother and, returning to Big Finish after an eleven-year absence, Bernard Cribbins will reprise his role as Wilfred Mott, Donna’s grandfather.
The Doctor and Donna will be back in action, with three new audio adventures coming May 2019.
3.1 No Place by James Goss
It's Haunted Makeovers! The home improvement show with a spooky twist. The Noble family are hoping to cast out a few spirits along with the old bathroom suite, as presenter Justin joins Donna, Wilf, Sylvia and the Doctor for the latest edition of his reality TV series. Of course, Justin knows that any supernatural phenomena can be faked. Ghosts can't possibly be real. Can they..?
3.2 One Mile Downby Jenny T Colgan
Donna and the Doctor take a holiday - in the beautiful un…